Before the year 2004 taking off your shirt to celebrate a goal was a legal way of celebrating
and scorers would go unpunished. But in 2004 a game changed it all.
Do you know the player who caused it? It was Diego Forlan
In a game for Manchester United he scored a goal and took of his shirt, fair enough!
But the problem was that the jubilation dragged for long and by the time the game restarted he was still without his shirt. He resumed play holding his shirt in his hand and was only able to put it back on when there was a break in play.
Fifa got to hear about this and frowned at his actions, then they were imposed the rule that if you take of your shirt during a celebration the player will be cautioned.